Week’s end

panofjames

This first week of my internship has been an interesting experience! After 7 months of unemployment I had to get used to being ‘on the clock’ again. Working from home I also had to discipline myself and put distracting personal projects away. In getting oriented to this kind of virtual work environment several networks were formed: an intern chat group on Skype, another group of just we 3 interns who graduated DCSP class together, and individual contacts in the Philippines, Brazil and Arizona.

We (3 interns) ran into some difficulty setting up an experimental development environment using VirtualBox and Vagrant…only 2 people in the company seem to have it running; but at first we though we were just ‘stupid’. I am OK being a guinea pig as long as I know that is my role.

I have 2 friends coming by tomorrow to get introduced to Drupal (a husband and wife who came to a meet-up and were very impressed by the Brevard community); we will set up their first development environment over pancakes.

And that is how the community works: give and take, share and share alike.

Leave a Reply

